'Nothing' is Kode9's first solo album and is about nothing.

The album throws horror soundtracks, sampled library and j-pop records into a no mans land between grime, early dubstep and Chicago footwork. Mostly instrumental, it zigzags between hypnotic, downcast loops, growling drones, jagged cut-ups of androids gone haywire, threaded through twitchy, transatlantic rhythms and sub-bass inaudible through your laptop speakers. 

Building slowly, but more upbeat than previous albums, many of these tracks have more in common with Kode9's recent singles from the last few years than they do with his two previous albums with collaborator The Spaceape 'Memories of the Future' (2006) and 'Black Sun' (2012)

Yet 'Nothing' is haunted both by The Spaceape's presence (he died in 2014 after a prolonged battle with cancer), on 'Third Ear Transmission', a communiqué from a zone of digital immortality, and his absence, on 'Void', whose spaces were originally intended for the vocalist, and 'Nothing Lasts Forever' which closes the album with a 9 minute silence. 

In 2016, in collaboration with simulation artist Lawrence Lek, Kode9 will tour a live A/V set which revolves around a evacuated, fully automated, luxury hotel known as the ‘Nøtel', whose corporate logo features on the album’s cover. The project explores a post-scarcity world in which the only thing in short supply is humans. The performance guides the audience on a first-person tour through the uncanny architecture of the Nøtel. In sprawling chambers deep within slick glass corridors, they encounter warped spaces, quantum clouds, gravitational pools, dancing voids and holograms of the dead.

Track List

01. Zero Point Energy
02. Notel
03. Void
04. Holo
05. Third Ear Transmission feat. The Spaceape
06. Zero Work
07. Vacuum Packed
08. Wu Wei
09. Casimir Effect
10. Respirator
11. Mirage
12. 9 Drones
13. Nothing Lasts Forever

The album will be available on CD / Digital and Special Edition 2 X LP, worldwide.

FOR PRESS, RADIO & MUSIC SUPERVISORS - special invite only events for the album will take place Monday September 21st in Los Angles, Wednesday September 23rd in San Francisco and Thursday September 24th in New York. These private events are being hosted in collaboration with Subpac - http://thesubpac.com/

 Credit: Philip Skoczkowski

Credit: Philip Skoczkowski

Artist Biography

Kode9 runs the record label Hyperdub, renowned for artists such as Burial, the late DJ Rashad and many more. He has released 2 albums with The Spaceape and over 10 singles on his own label, as well as releasing, remixing and doing DJ mix compilations for labels such as K7, Rinse, On U Sound, Warp, Domino, Ghostly, Tempa and Rephlex. He has DJ’d extensively across Europe, North America and Asia and has performed at leading electronic festivals such as Sonar, Coachella, Glastonbury, Mutek and Unsound. Last summer Kode9 released his last EP, ‘Killing Season’, with The Spaceape who died in October 2014. As Steve Goodman, he wrote the book Sonic Warfare that was published on MIT Press in 2010, and was a member of the Cybernetic Culture Research Unit (Ccru). He is also part of the sonic research cell, AUDINT (with Toby Heys) who have created installations across North America and Europe, and released the ‘Martial Hauntology’ project (book/vinyl/prints) in 2014.

November 2015 USA DJ Tour

To request an interview with Kode9 or a promo of this album (North American / Canadian Press Only) please fill out this form

Name *